The Choice by Jake Cross

The Choice - Blog Tour.jpg

#blogblitz #book #review @bookouture @JakeCross #TheChoice @KimNash @NoelleHolten

The-Choice-Kindle

The Book Blurb:

‘You’ve got to help me,’ she pleads.

On a wet road in the black of night, Karl Seabury is driving home to his pregnant wife. Suddenly, caught in his headlights in the middle of the road is a woman shaking with fright.

The woman says her name is Liz Smith, that her home was attacked, and that she was the only one to escape.

In a split-second decision, Karl decides to help her to safety. But Liz is hiding a dark secret and now his good deed has put his family in terrible danger…

An absolutely unputdownable thriller, with twist after twist after twist, that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, John Marrs and Harlan Coben.

The thoughts of Veilys Reviews:

Well, this certainly wasn’t what i was expecting. In the best possible way i mean. I had it in my head that this was going to be a crime/police novel that follows the usual path towards the inevitable conclusion. Ermm, i was wrong.  Whilst reading, every so often i had cause to say…”really?” or “as if”, “no way would that happen”. (you see where i’m going) however, what came as more of a surprise was after i’d finished it. Those first few days after you finish a novel and digest it. What happened then, was the feeling that i experienced. The slow dawning of realisation that i’d actually just finished something pretty special and unique. The things i had questioned whilst reading the book came together to give the reader a very clever, very well written, intriguing story. And then, as if i needed it…the definitive moment when just thinking about the story puts a smile on your face! You know you’ve just been privy to a work of pure genius and loved it. To fully enjoy it though, i’d make sure that during the reading of it, you remember that this IS  a work of fiction and as such the author is allowed a certain poetic licence and as a reader, just go with it. It’s worth the ride!

When you start this book, you do hit the ground running, and i’m pleased to say that it never lets up. The crux of the dilemma is actually one that we all experience in day to day living. Do you help? If you see someone in trouble, what DO you do? Would you stop and offer a hand or would you think, nah, none of my business. This moral issue isn’t something new and i’m sure 99% of us would like to say that we would stop and offer a helping hand. What the author does with this story is explore what happens when that good deed backfires, in a most spectacular way.

The characters and personalities in the book are fabulously done. The author executes the whole work with an artistic flair from beginning to end. Almost with an air of flamboyance over the whole thing. (But as i said, just embrace it, go with it, and you’ll enjoy yourself immensely!) The storyline, the premise, was definitely enough of a teaser to do it’s job. It was this initially that peaked my interest.

I could go on, but really, the best thing you could do for yourself is pick it up and read it. Just lose yourself in a work of fiction that has a nod towards the realism of others in this genre and enjoy 🙂

 

About the author: Jake Cross

dav

Jake has been making stuff up from a real early age. His parents never believed his silly lies when he was young, so he still has no idea why he thought he could invent a decent story as an adult. But he kept trying, and here we are. THE CHOICE is his first novel, the first of three thrillers to be published by Bookouture, and he hopes you like it. If you don’t, he at least hopes you don’t ask for a refund.
Author Social Media Links
Facebook: https://facebook.com/jakecrossauthor/Twitter: https://twitter.com/JakeCrossAuthor
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17625443.Jake_Cross

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: